Ledbetter Heights


This is where it all began… Hard to believe, but we are on the cusp of celebrating 20 years of making records! Ledbetter Heights, the debut album by Louisiana native Kenny Wayne Shepherd, was released in September of 1995. At a mere 16 years old, Shepherd signed his record deal with a major label and recorded the album while still in high school. Shepherd named his album after a neighborhood in Shreveport, Louisiana where Huddie "Lead Belly" Ledbetter once lived and performed as an homage to the blues tradition of his hometown.

Ledbetter Heights was an immediate hit, selling over 500,000 copies by early 1996. It was certified Gold by the RIAA in 1996 and later certified Platinum. Most blues records never achieve such a level of commercial success, much less ones released by artists who are still in their teens.

Ledbetter Heights spent 20 weeks topping Billboard's Blues Chart and had three top ten singles at radio with “Deja Voodoo”, “Aberdeen” and “Born With A Broken Heart”. In 1996, Guitar World listed Shepherd at #3 of their Top Blues Guitarists following only B.B. King and Eric Clapton.


1 - Born With a Broken Heart
2 - Déjà Voodoo
3 - Aberdeen
4 - Shame, Shame, Shame
5 - One Foot on the Path
6 - Everybody Gets the Blues
7 - While We Cry
8 - I'm Leaving You (Commit a Crime)
9 - (Let Me Up) I've Had Enough
10 - Riverside
11 - What's Goin' Down
12 - Ledbetter Heights